The election of the Bar Association of Sri Lanka to select its President and the Secretary was held Island wide at 81 polling centers on 20th of February 2019.

More than 6,000 memberships cast their votes at their respective polling stations with the relevant judges acting as Returning Officers.

Mr. Kalinga Indatissa, PC emerged victorious in the battle for the Presidency of BASL polling 4,706 votes with a majority of 3,345 votes. Mr. Kaushalya Nawaratne, Senior Attorney-at-Law succeeded in retaining his incumbent post of Secretary by polling 5,074 with the majority of 4,171 votes. Accordingly, Hon. Dappula de Livera PC, the Solicitor General of Sri Lanka who functioned as the Chief Returning Officer of the election declared Mr. Kalinga Indatissa PC and Mr. Kaushalya Nawaratne, Attorney-at-Law to have been duly elected the President and the Secretary of the BASL respectively for the year 2019 – 2020.

Mr. Mahinda Lokuge, Senior Attorney-at-Law who had entered into the Presidential fray with Mr. Indatissa PC managed to bag 1,361 votes while Mr. Theja Saman Welianga, Attorney-at-Law who contested against Mr. Nawaratne, Senior Attorney-at-Law for the post of Secretary managed to poll 903 votes.

As regards Colombo Polling Division which had the longest electoral list, Mr. Indatissa PC polled 2394 votes while Mr. Lokuge, Senior Attorney-at-Law polled 556 votes. Mr. Nawaratne, Senior Attorney-at-Law received 2,459 while Mr. Welianga Attorney-at-Law received 457 votes from Colombo Division.

The Election was held peacefully Islanded wide with all four candidates propelling their election campaign professionally and with due regard to the professional decorum.

The BASL wishes to express its appreciation to Hon. Dappula de Livera PC, the Solicitor General, Hon. Judges, Officers of the Attorney General’s Department and the members of the Staff of the Attorney General’s Department for all the efforts taken to conduct the said election fairly, independently and peacefully.